Higher Learning Commission

Higher Learning Comm.

Higher Learning Commission

DCTC Institutional Accreditation

The Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association

Accreditation Overview

Dakota County Technical College is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. Serving as an independent corporation, the HLC is one of two commission members of the NCA, which was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

HLC accreditation provides valuable, external verification of the quality and integrity of DCTC academic and educational programs based on the college's institutional mission. According to the HLC Handbook of Accreditation: "The Higher Learning Commission is a membership organization whose members are the organizations accredited by a Commission. Therefore, the terms member organization and accredited organization are synonymous. Reference to membership is limited to accredited colleges and universities."

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604